clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Chiefs look to become first repeat Super Bowl champs since Patriots

The Chiefs look to repeat as champs when they face the Bucs in Super Bowl 55. Here’s the history of back-to-back champs.

All five of Super Bowl Trophies won by the 2017 Super Bowl Champions the New England Patriots during their visit to the White House in Washington, United States on April 19, 2017. Photo by Samuel Corum/Anadolu Agency/Getty Images

Winning back-to-back Super Bowls isn’t easy, but seven teams have accomplished the feat, with one team getting it done twice. This season the Kansas City Chiefs will get their chance to become the eighth team to win back-to-back titles and they’ll be facing the last quarterback to do so.

The Tampa Bay Buccaneers quarterback Tom Brady will play in his 10th Super Bowl, and is the last quarterback to repeat as Super Bowl winner. Brady won with the New England Patriots in 2003 and 2004, making it 17 years since the last title repeat in the NFL.

Patrick Mahomes will become the youngest quarterback to go to back-to-back Super Bowls at 25. He’ll have to go into Tampa Bay, likely without his left tackle, and beat the living legend himself. It would be quite the accomplishment for the young superstar, but one he looks to be up for.

Let’s take a quick look at all the other back-to-back Super Bowl winners, starting with the originals, the Green Bay Packers:

1966-67 Green Bay Packers (Super Bowls 1 & 2)
1972-73 Miami Dolphins (Super Bowls 7 & 8)
1974-75 Pittsburgh Steelers (Super Bowls 9 & 10)
1978-79 Pittsburgh Steelers (Super Bowls 13 & 14)
1988-89 San Francisco 49ers (Super Bowls 23 & 24)
1992-93 Dallas Cowboys (Super Bowls 27 & 28)
1997-1998 Denver Broncos (Super Bowls 32 & 33)
2003-04 New England Patriots (Super Bowls 38 & 39)

There have been two teams that won and then returned to the Super Bowl the following season and lost. The Washington Football Team beat the Miami Dolphins in the 1982 season and were able to return the next season, but ended up losing to the Los Angeles Raiders. The Patriots beat the Atlanta Falcons in the 2016 season, but lost the following year to the Philadelphia Eagles. Of course, they then won the following season against the Los Angeles Rams.

It won’t be easy, but the Chiefs have the quarterback and head coach to get the job done in 2021.