clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

How the race order will be set for Sunday’s Cup Series Race at Las Vegas

We go over the betting favorites and starting grid ahead of Sunday’s NASCAR Cup Series race at Las Vegas Motor Speedway.

NASCAR Cup Series driver Kevin Harvick does a burnout after winning the Nascar Bass Pro Shops NRA Night Race at Bristol Motor Speedway.  Randy Sartin-USA TODAY Sports

The NASCAR Cup Series will head to Las Vegas Motor Speedway this weekend for the South Point 400 on Sunday. The race will begin at 7:00 p.m. ET and will be be aired on NBCSN. We’ll go over the betting favorites and starting grid here.

NASCAR made changes to how qualifying in the three national series (Cup, Xfinity, Gander Outdoors Truck) in August. Three performance metrics will be utilized, with each one weighted a little different. It breaks down as follows.

  • Finishing position from the previous race (weighted 50%)
  • Ranking in team owner points standings (35%)
  • Fastest lap from the previous race (15%)

Kevin Harvick is at the top of the totem pole after securing a victory at the Bass Pro Shops Night Race. He and Martin Truex Jr. are favored to win at +500 on DraftKings Sportsbook, but Harvick appears to have an edge. Harvick has won three of his last five races and sits atop the cup series standings. Brad Keselowski is right behind Harvick and Truex in the odds at +550 and is second in the points race. He’s only one race removed from a win at the Federated Auto Parts 400 and could be in the hunt for another checkered flag.

Here’s what the starting grid looks like for Sunday’s race.

2020 South Point 400 starting lineup

Rank Driver Nbr
Rank Driver Nbr
1 Kevin Harvick 4
2 Kyle Busch 18
3 Chase Elliott 9
4 Aric Almirola 10
5 Joey Logano 22
6 Clint Bowyer 14
7 Austin Dillon 3
8 Alex Bowman 88
9 Kurt Busch 1
10 Denny Hamlin 11
11 Martin Truex, Jr. 19
12 Brad Keselowski 2
13 Erik Jones 20
14 Tyler Reddick 8
15 Ryan Blaney 12
16 Chris Buescher 17
17 Michael McDowell 34
18 Jimmie Johnson 48
19 Matt DiBenedetto 21
20 Matt Kenseth 42
21 Ryan Preece 37
22 Cole Custer 41
23 Bubba Wallace 43
24 Ty Dillon 13
25 John Hunter Nemechek 38
26 Christopher Bell 95
27 Ryan Newman 6
28 William Byron 24
29 Daniel Suarez 96
30 Gray Gaulding 27
31 Corey LaJoie 32
32 Quin Houff 0
33 Ricky Stenhouse, Jr. 47
34 Joey Gase 51
35 Brennan Poole 15
36 Timmy Hill 66
37 J.J. Yeley 77
38 Josh Bilicki 53
39 Chad Finchum 49