clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

How the Cook Out Southern 500 race order will be set Sunday at Darlington

We go over the betting favorites and starting grid ahead og Sunday’s Cook Out Southern 500.

Kevin Harvick, driver of the #4 Mobil 1 Ford, races during the NASCAR Cup Series Coke Zero Sugar 400 at Daytona International Speedway on August 29, 2020 in Daytona Beach, Florida. Photo by Chris Graythen/Getty Images

The NASCAR Cup Series’ Cook Out Southern 500 is set to start Sunday at 6:00 p.m. ET at Darlington Raceway. It will be aired on NBCSN. Williams Byron surprised everyone by winning last week’s Coke Zero Sugar 400 at Daytona. It’s unclear whether we’ll get another shocking result this time around, but we’ll go over the betting favorites and starting grid below.

Since the restart, the starting grid had been determined by random draws that took team owner points into account. However, NASCAR has since changed qualifying for the three national series (Cup, Xfinity, Gander Outdoors Truck) the rest of the year.

Three performance metrics will be utilized, with each one weighted a little different. It breaks down as follows.

  • 15% of a fastest lap time position
  • 25% of the driver’s final race finish position
  • 25% of the owner’s final race position
  • 35% of the Owner Points position.

Kevin Harvick (+325) is the favorite at DraftKings Sportsbook despite finishing in 20th in his last race despite being the pole sitter. He has four top five finishes in his last five starts at Darlington, so it makes since that he’s expected to bounce back. He’s trailed by Denny Hamlin (+350), who’s won two of his last five races at Darlington. Martin Truex Jr. (+800) rounds out the top three. He hasn’t finished outside the top four in his last eight races and has one career win at Darlington.

Here’s a look at the full starting lineup for the Cook Out Southern 500.

Cook Out Southern 500 starting lineup

Starting spot Driver Car # Team
Starting spot Driver Car # Team
1 Chase Elliott 9 Hendrick Motorsports
2 Denny Hamlin 11 Joe Gibbs Racing
3 William Byron 24 Hendrick Motorsports
4 Alex Bowman 88 Hendrick Motorsports
5 Brad Keselowski 2 Team Penske
6 Martin Truex Jr. 19 Joe Gibbs Racing
7 Ryan Blaney 12 Team Penske
8 Kevin Harvick 4 Stewart-Haas Racing
9 Clint Bowyer 14 Stewart-Haas Racing
10 Aric Almirola 10 Stewart-Haas Racing
11 Matt DiBenedetto 21 Wood Brothers Racing
12 Austin Dillon 3 Richard Childress Racing
13 Joey Logano 22 Team Penske
14 Cole Custer 41 Stewart-Haas Racing
15 Kyle Busch 18 Joe Gibbs Racing
16 Kurt Busch 1 Chip Ganassi Racing
17 Bubba Wallace 43 Richard Petty Motorsports
18 John Hunter Nemechek 38 Front Row Motorsports
19 Michael McDowell 34 Front Row Motorsports
20 Chris Buescher 17 Roush Fenway Racing
21 Christopher Bell 95 Leavine Family Racing
22 Jimmie Johnson 48 Hendrick Motorsports
23 Brennan Poole 15 Premium Motorsports
24 Tyler Reddick 8 Richard Childress Racing
25 Ty Dillon 13 Germain Racing
26 Matt Kenseth 42 Chip Ganassi Racing
27 Corey LaJoie 32 GoFas Racing
28 Daniel Suarez 96 Gaunt Brothers Racing
29 Ricky Stenhouse Jr. 47 JTG Daugherty Racing
30 Erik Jones 20 Joe Gibbs Racing
31 Ryan Newman 6 Roush Fenway Racing
32 Quin Houff 0 StarCom Racing
33 Timmy Hill 66 Motorsports Business Management
34 Reed Sorenson 77 Spire Motorsports
35 Ryan Preece 37 JTG Daugherty Racing
36 James Davison 53 Rick Ware Racing
37 JJ Yeley 27 Rick Ware Racing
38 Josh Bilicki 7 Tommy Baldwin Racing
39 Joey Gase 51 Petty Ware Racing