clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

How the race order will be set for Friday’s Xfinity Series race at Richmond

Kyle Busch is returning to the Xfinity Series on Friday and is favored to win at Richmond Raceway.

Kyle Busch, driver of the #54 Twix Cookies & Crème Toyota, drives during the NASCAR Xfinity Series Bariatric Solutions 300 at Texas Motor Speedway on July 18, 2020 in Fort Worth, Texas. Photo by Brian Lawdermilk/Getty Images

The next race in the NASCAR Xfinity Series will be the Go Bowling 250 at Richmond Raceway. The race is set to begin at 7:00 p.m. ET and will be aired on NBCS. We’ll go over the betting favorites and how the starting grid will be determined below.

The starting grid has been determined by random draws that take team owner points into account since the restart, but last week NASCAR announced that qualifying will work differently in the three national series (Cup, Xfinity, Gander Outdoors Truck) moving forward. Here’s a breakdown of the new system.

Three performance metrics will be utilized, with each one weighted a little different. It breaks down as follows.

  • Finishing position from the previous race (weighted 50%)
  • Ranking in team owner points standings (35%)
  • Fastest lap from the previous race (15%)

Kyle Busch hasn’t been able to do much in the NASCAR Cup series this year as the reigning champion but he does have a win and three top five finishes in the Xfinity Series despite only competing in four races. He’s the favorite to win on DraftKings Sportsbook at -139. Austin Cindric has the next best odds at +550 and has cooled off since rattling off eight straight top three finishes. He’s the points leader in the series and is trailed by second place Chase Briscoe (+650) in the odds.

Here’s what the starting grid looks like for Friday’s Xfinity Series race.

2020 Go Bowling 250 starting order

Starting spot Driver Car #
Starting spot Driver Car #
1 Ross Chastain 10
2 Brandon Jones 19
3 Harrison Burton 20
4 Noah Gragson 9
5 Chase Briscoe 98
6 Ryan Sieg 39
7 Austin Cindric 22
8 Riley Herbst 18
9 Michael Annett 1
10 Justin Haley 11
11 Myatt Snider 93
12 Josh Williams 92
13 Brandon Brown 68
14 Jesse Little 4
15 Alex Labbe 36
16 Justin Allgaier 7
17 Jeffrey Earnhardt 0
18 Colby Howard 15
19 Jeremy Clements 51
20 Brett Moffitt 2
21 Tommy Joe Martins 44
22 Matt Mills 5
23 Joe Graf, Jr. 8
24 Kaz Grala 21
25 Chad Finchum 61
26 Bayley Currey 74
27 Dexter Bean 90
28 Jeb Burton 8
29 Kyle Busch 54
30 Mason Massey 78
31 Joey Gase 7
32 B.J. McLeod 6
33 Kody Vanderwal 52
34 Vinnie Miller 99
35 Stephen Leicht 13
36 Kyle Weatherman 47
37 Timmy Hill 66