clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

How the FireKeepers Casino 400 race order will be set Saturday at Michigan

We break down the starting grid and betting odds for Saturday’s NASCAR Cup Series race at Michigan.

Kevin Harvick, driver of the Mobil 1 Ford, drives during the NASCAR Cup Series Foxwoods Resort Casino 301 at New Hampshire Motor Speedway on August 02, 2020 in Loudon, New Hampshire. Photo by Jared C. Tilton/Getty Images

NASCAR is headed to Michigan International Speedway this weekend for a doubleheader of Cup Series races. The FireKeepers Casino 400 is set run on Saturday at 4:00 p.m. ET and will air on NBC Sports Network. A day later, the Consumers Energy 400 will run at 4:30 p.m. ET, also airing on NBC Sports Network.

NASCAR will not be running qualifying events for any of its races the remainder of the season due to the Covid-19 pandemic. Instead, random draw connected to owner points will determine the starting lineup for each race.

The starting grid for the FireKeepers Casino 400 is determined by random draws that account for where each driver stands in the points race. Here’s how the starting order for Saturday’s race will be determined.

  • Positions 1-12: Random draw from charter teams in those positions in owner points
  • Positions 13-24: Random draw from charter teams in those positions in owner points
  • Positions 25-36: Random draw from charter teams in those positions in owner points
  • Positions 37-40: Open teams in order of owners points

Sunday’s Consumers Energy 400 race order will be determined by inverting the top 20 finishers at Saturday’s race, with the rest of the field from 21st on back filled out based on those finishers on Saturday. Pit-stall selection for Saturday is based on the finishing order from last Sunday’s race at New Hampshire Motor Speedway.

Here’s a look at the full starting lineup for the FireKeepers Casino 400.

2020 FireKeepers Casino 400 starting lineup

Starting spot Driver Car # Team
Starting spot Driver Car # Team
1 Joey Logano 22 Team Penske
2 Denny Hamlin 11 Joe Gibbs Racing
3 Kevin Harvick 4 Stewart-Haas Racing
4 Aric Almirola 10 Stewart-Haas Racing
5 Brad Keselowski 2 Team Penske
6 Alex Bowman 88 Hendrick Motorsports
7 Kyle Busch 18 Joe Gibbs Racing
8 Chase Elliott 9 Hendrick Motorsports
9 Clint Bowyer 14 Stewart-Haas Racing
10 Kurt Busch 1 Chip Ganassi Racing
11 Ryan Blaney 12 Team Penske
12 Martin Truex Jr. 19 Joe Gibbs Racing
13 Ryan Newman 6 Roush Fenway Racing
14 Tyler Reddick 8 Richard Childress Racing
15 Matt DiBenedetto 21 Wood Brothers Racing
16 Cole Custer 41 Stewart-Haas Racing
17 Jimmie Johnson 48 Hendrick Motorsports
18 Austin Dillon 3 Richard Childress Racing
19 William Byron 24 Hendrick Motorsports
20 Matt Kenseth 42 Chip Ganassi Racing
21 Michael McDowell 34 Front Row Motorsports
22 Chris Buescher 17 Roush Fenway Racing
23 Erik Jones 20 Joe Gibbs Racing
24 Bubba Wallace 43 Richard Petty Motorsports
25 Quin Houff 0 StarCom Racing
26 JJ Yeley 27 Rick Ware Racing
27 Brennan Poole 15 Premium Motorsports
28 James Davison 51 Petty Ware Raicng
29 Christopher Bell 95 Leavine Family Racing
30 Reed Sorenson 74 Spire Motorsports
31 John Hunter Nemechek 38 Front Row Motorsports
32 Ricky Stenhouse Jr. 47 JTG Daugherty Racing
33 Garrett Smithley 53 Rick Ware Racing
34 Ty Dillon 13 Germain Racing
35 Ryan Preece 37 JTG Daugherty Racing
36 Corey LaJoie 32 Go Fas Racing
37 Daniel Suarez 96 Gaunt Brothers Racing
38 Timmy Hill 66 Motorsports Business Management
39 Joey Gase 7 Tommy Baldwin Racing