clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

How the race order will be set for Friday’s Xfinity Series race at Daytona

We go over the starting grid and betting favorites ahead of Friday’s Wawa 250 at Daytona.

Chase Briscoe, driver of the #98 Ford, drives during the NASCAR Xfinity Series Drydene 200 at Dover International Speedway on August 23, 2020 in Dover, Delaware. Photo by Hunter Martin/Getty Images

The NASCAR Xfinity Series has the Wawa 250 by Coca-Cola set for Friday at Daytona International Speedway. The race will begin at 7:30 p.m. ET and will be aired on NBCS. We’ll go over the betting favorites and how the starting grid will be determined below.

The starting grid has been determined by random draws that take team owner points into account since the restart, but NASCAR has changed the qualifying system in the three national series (Cup, Xfinity, Gander Outdoors Truck). Here’s a breakdown for how the starting grid will be determined moving forward.

Three performance metrics will be utilized, with each one weighted a little different. It breaks down as follows.

  • Finishing position from the previous race (weighted 50%)
  • Ranking in team owner points standings (35%)
  • Fastest lap from the previous race (15%)

Chase Briscoe (+650) and Ross Chastain (+650) are the frontrunners to win on DraftKings Sportsbook. Briscoe won Sunday’s Drydene 200 at Dover International Speedway and was trailed by Chastain. Briscoe will be the pole sitter while Chastain will start second on the grid. Noah Gragson has the third best odds at +700 and will start in fourth. He’s rattled off four straight top six finishes. Justin Allgaier and Austin Cindric round out the top five at +750. Allgaier won the first leg of the Drydene 200 last Saturday while Cindric hasn’t dropped outside the top three in eight races.

Here’s what the rest of the field looks like for Friday’s Xfinity Series race.

2020 Wawa 250 starting order

Pos Driver Car
Pos Driver Car
1 Chase Briscoe 98
2 Ross Chastain 10
3 Austin Cindric 22
4 Noah Gragson 9
5 Justin Allgaier 7
6 Brandon Jones 19
7 Daniel Hemric 8
8 Michael Annett 1
9 Justin Haley 11
10 Riley Herbst 18
11 Harrison Burton 20
12 Brett Moffitt 02
13 Anthony Alfredo 21
14 Ryan Sieg 39
15 Brandon Brown 68
16 Jeremy Clements 51
17 Alex Labber 36
18 Tommy Joe Martins 44
19 Myatt Snider 93
20 Josh Williams 92
21 Jesse Little 4
22 Joe Graf Jr. 08
23 BJ McLeod 6
24 Jeffrey Earnhardt 0
25 Chad Finchum 13
26 Colby Howard 15
27 Kody Vanderwal 52
28 Gray Gaulding 07
29 Matt Mills 5
30 Vinnie Miller 78
31 Timmy Hill 61
32 Caesar Bacarella 90
33 Joey Gase 99
34 AJ Allmendinger 16
35 Mike Harmon 74
36 Tim Viens 47
37 John Jackson 66