clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

How the GoBowling 235 race order will be set Sunday at Daytona

We go over the starting order for Sunday’s GoBowling 235 at Daytona International Speedway.

Chase Elliott, driver of the #9 Mountain Dew Chevrolet, drives during the NASCAR Cup Series Consumers Energy 400 at Michigan International Speedway on August 09, 2020 in Brooklyn, Michigan. Photo by Jared C. Tilton/Getty Images

The NASCAR Cup Series’ GoBowling 235 is set to take place Sunday. It has been moved from Watkins Glen International to Daytona International Speedway this year because of government Covid-19 restrictions. The race gets underway at 3:00 p.m. ET and will air on NBCSN. Kevin Harvick won both the races at Michigan International Speedway last weekend and will be among the favorites to finish first in this race.

The starting grid has been determined by random draws that take team owner points into account since the restart, but last week NASCAR announced that qualifying will work differently in the three national series (Cup, Xfinity, Gander Outdoors Truck) moving forward. Here’s a breakdown of the new system.

Three performance metrics will be utilized, with each one weighted a little different. It breaks down as follows.

  • Finishing position from the previous race (weighted 50%)
  • Ranking in team owner points standings (35%)
  • Fastest lap from the previous race (15%)

The GoBowling 235 will be a road race, and because of that Harvick doesn’t have the best odds for the first time in weeks. Although he claimed the pole, he ranks third at +700 on DraftKings Sportsbook and trails the favored Chase Elliott (+375) and Martin Truex Jr. (+400). Elliott has won his last two road races and has two career road race wins at the Glenn. He still has a good shot to be successful at a different venue.

Here’s a look at the full starting lineup for the GoBowling 235.

2020 GoBowling 235 starting lineup

Starting spot Driver Car # Team
Starting spot Driver Car # Team
1 Kevin Harvick 4 Stewart-Haas Racing
2 Denny Hamlin 11 Joe Gibbs Racing
3 Martin Truex Jr. 19 Joe Gibbs Racing
4 Kyle Busch 18 Joe Gibbs Racing
5 Joey Logano 22 Team Penske
6 Aric Almirola 10 Stewart-Haas Racing
7 Chase Elliott 9 Hendrick Motorsports
8 Kurt Busch 1 Chip Ganassi Racing
9 Matt DiBenedetto 21 Wood Brothers Racing
10 Austin Dillon 3 Richard Childress Racing
11 Jimmie Johnson 48 Hendrick Motorsports
12 Clint Bowyer 14 Stewart-Haas Racing
13 William Byron 24 Hendrick Motorsports
14 Ryan Newman 6 Roush Fenway Racing
15 Christopher Bell 95 Leavine Family Racing
16 Matt Kenseth 42 Chip Ganassi Racing
17 Brad Keselowski 2 Team Penske
18 Tyler Reddick 8 Richard Childress Racing
19 Bubba Wallace 43 Richard Petty Motorsports
20 Erik Jones 20 Joe Gibbs Racing
21 Chris Buescher 17 Roush Fenway Racing
22 Ryan Preece 37 JTG Daugherty Racing
23 Ty Dillon 13 Germain Racing
24 Ryan Blaney 12 Team Penske
25 Ricky Stenhouse Jr. 47 JTG Daugherty Racing
26 Cole Custer 41 Stewart-Haas Racing
27 Alex Bowman 88 Hendrick Motorsports
28 John Hunter Nemechek 38 Front Row Motorsports
29 Corey LaJoie 32 Go FAS Racing
30 Michael McDowell 34 Front Row Motorsports
31 Daniel Suarez 96 Gaunt Brothers Racing
32 JJ Yeley 27 Rick Ware Racing
33 Brennan Poole 15 Premium Motorsports
34 Reed Sorenson 77 Spire Motorsports
35 Quin Houff 0 StarCom Racing
36 Timmy Hill 66 Motorsports Business Management
37 Gray Gaulding 53 Rick Ware Racing
38 Joey Gase 51 Petty Ware Racing
39 Brendan Gaughan 62 Beard Motorsports