clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

How the race order will be set for Sunday’s Folds of Honor QuikTrip 500

We break down the starting grid ahead of Sunday’s Folds of Honor QuikTrip 500 at Atlanta Motor Speedway.

The NASCAR Cup Series’ Folds of Honor QuikTrip 500 is set to take place on Sunday at Atlanta Motor Speedway. The race follows last Sunday’s Food City 500 and is set to start at 3:00 p.m ET on FS1.

The starting grid will be determined by random draws that account for where each driver stands in the points race. Here’s how it works.

  • Positions 1-12: Random draw from charter teams in those positions in owner points
  • Positions 13-24: Random draw from charter teams in those positions in owner points
  • Positions 25-36: Random draw from charter teams in those positions in owner points
  • Positions 37-40: Open teams in order of owners points

Georgia native Chase Elliott claimed the pole in the drawing and Aric Almirola will join him on the front row. Joey Logano and Kyle Busch are behind that duo while Clint Bowyer and Food City 500 winner Brad Keselowski are behind them.

Elliott (+600) only trails Kevin Harvick (+500) on DraftKings Sportsbook and was in the hunt to win the Food City 500 before making contact with Logano (+900). His misjudgment cost him a win, but he’s been close to victory in quite a few races since May. Keselowski (+800) is running hot and has the first pit stall. He could be a real threat to win back-to-back races.

QuikTrip 500 starting order

Pos Driver Car Sponsor
Pos Driver Car Sponsor
1 Chase Elliott 9 Hendrick Motorsports
2 Aric Almirola 10 Stewart-Haas Racing
3 Joey Logano 22 Team Penske
4 Kyle Busch 18 Joe Gibbs Racing
5 Clint Bowyer 14 Stewart-Haas Racing
6 Brad Keselowski 2 Team Penske
7 Ryan Blaney 12 Team Penske
8 Alex Bowman 88 Hendrick Motorsports
9 Kevin Harvick 4 Stewart-Haas Racing
10 Denny Hamlin 11 Joe Gibbs Racing
11 Martin Truex Jr. 19 Joe Gibbs Racing
12 Kurt Busch 1 Chip Ganassi Racing
13 Chris Buescher 17 Roush Fenway Racing
14 Erik Jones 20 Joe Gibbs Racing
15 Jimmie Johnson 48 Hendrick Motorsports
16 Austin Dillon 3 Richard Childress Racing
17 Ryan Newman 6 Roush Fenway Racing
18 John Hunter Nemechek 38 Front Row Motorsports
19 Matt Kenseth 42 Chip Ganassi Racing
20 William Byron 24 Hendrick Motorsports
21 Matt DiBenedetto 21 Wood Brothers Racing
22 Ricky Stenhouse Jr. 47 JTG Daugherty Racing
23 Bubba Wallace 43 Richard Petty Motorsports
24 Tyler Reddick 8 Richard Childress Racing
25 Corey LaJoie 32 Go Fas Racing
26 Joey Gase 51 Petty Ware Racing
27 Christopher Bell 95 Leavine Family Racing
28 Ty Dillon 13 Germain Racing
29 Ryan Preece 37 JTG Daugherty Racing
30 JJ Yeley 77 Spire Motorsports
31 Cole Custer 41 Stewart-Haas Racing
32 Josh Bilicki 27 Rick Ware Racing
33 Brennan Poole 15 Premium Motorsports
34 Garrett Smithley 53 Rick Ware Racing
35 Quin Houff 0 StarCom Racing
36 Michael McDowell 34 Front Row Motorsports
37 Daniel Suarez 96 Gaunt Brothers Racing
38 Timmy Hill 66 Motorsports Business Management
39 B.J. McLeod 78 B.J. McLeod Motorsports
40 Reed Sorenson 7 Tommy Baldwin Racing