clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Who are the teams in the NBA playoffs?

With the NBA deciding to go with a 22-team format for the NBA Playoffs, we take a look at the field and which franchises have a chance to win it all.

Portland Trail Blazers guard Damian Lillard and Washington Wizards guard Bradley Beal wait during a break in the action during the second half at Moda Center. The Trail Blazers won 125-105.  Troy Wayrynen-USA TODAY Sports

The NBA Board of Governors approved a plan on Thursday that will restart the 2019-20 season with a 22-team playoff, according to The Athletic’s Shams Charania.

The playoff format is set to start July 31st with a field of 22 teams competing in the playoffs. The 22-team field will feature the 16 teams in playoff position — eight from each conference. After that, there will be a play-in tournament that will include the six teams right outside the playoff picture from each conference. Charania broke down how the play-in tournament would work, as follows:

If the ninth seed is more than four games behind the eighth seed, the eighth seed earns the playoff spot; if the ninth seed is four or fewer games behind, then the eighth and ninth seed will enter a play-in tournament that is double-elimination for the eighth seed and single-elimination for ninth.

Basketball is almost back people so let’s take a look at how the playoff field would look.

Eastern Conference

(1) Milwaukee Bucks
(2) Toronto Raptors
(3) Boston Celtics
(4) Miami Heat
(5) Indiana Pacers
(6) Philadelphia 76ers
(7) Brooklyn Nets
(8) Orlando Magic

Western Conference

(1) Los Angeles Lakers
(2) Los Angeles Clippers
(3) Denver Nuggets
(4) Utah Jazz
(5) Oklahoma City Thunder
(6) Houston Rockets
(7) Dallas Mavericks
(8) Memphis Grizzlies

Play-in Tournament Field

(9) Portland Trail Blazers
(10) New Orleans Pelicans
(11) Sacramento Kings
(12) San Antonio Spurs
(13) Phoenix Suns

(9) Washington Wizards