clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

La Liga bracket set for FIFA 20 competition

The virtual La Liga will be decided by one player from each team competing in a FIFA 20 tournament. We’ve got the full bracket and schedule below.

FC Barcelona pose with the trophy after defeating SSC Napoli in the La Liga - Seria A series during the 2019 International Champions Cup match at Michigan Stadium on August 10, 2019 in Ann Arbor, Michigan. Photo by Gregory Shamus/International Champions Cup/Getty Images

The future of the 2019-2020 La Liga season is in question due to the coronavirus outbreak, with play suspended indefinitely. While it will be some time before the on-field champion is determined, the virtual champion will be decided this weekend.

19 of the 20 teams in the league are taking part in a FIFA 20 tournament hosted by Spanish esports announcer Ibai Llanos on his Twitch channel. Each team will be represented by a player from the team.

Llanos conducted a formal draw to set up the bracket Thursday afternoon. Six of the bottom seven teams (RCD Mallorca is not taking part) are playing in a Friday play-in round. They then advance to a Round of 16 that will take place on Saturday. The quarterfinals will follow, also on Saturday. The semifinals and finals are both set for Sunday.

Here is the complete schedule for the coming weekend of action. The player representing the team is in parenthesis next to his team.

Play-in round, Friday

Game 1: CD Leganés (Aitor Ruibal) vs. Real Valladolid (Pedro Porro)
Game 2: Alavés (Lucas Pérez) vs. Celta Vigo (Kevin Vázquez)
Game 3: RCD Espanyol (Adrián Embarba) vs. SD Eibar (Edu Expósito)

Round of 16, Saturday

Game 4: CA Osasuna (Rubén García) vs. Game 1 winner
Game 5: Sevilla FC (Sergio Reguilón) vs. Athletic Bilbao (Gorka Guruzeta)
Game 6: Levante UD (Carlos Clerc) vs. Game 2 winner
Game 7: Real Sociedad (Adnan Januzaj) vs. Atlético Madrid (Marcos Llorente)
Game 8: FC Barcelona (Sergi Roberto) vs. Game 3 winner
Game 9: Getafe CF (Jason) vs. Real Betis (Borja Iglesias)
Game 10: Villarreal CF (Manu Morlanes) vs. Valencia CF (Carlos Soler)
Game 11: Granada CF (José Antonio Martínez Gil) vs. Real Madrid (Marco Asensio)

Quarterfinals, Saturday

Game 12: Game 4 winner vs. Game 5 winner
Game 13: Game 6 winner vs. Game 7 winner
Game 14: Game 8 winner vs. Game 9 winner
Game 15: Game 10 winner vs. Game 11 winner

Semifinals, Sunday

Game 16: Game 12 winner vs. Game 13 winner
Game 17: Game 14 winner vs. Game 15 winner

Finals, Sunday

Game 18: Game 16 winner vs. Game 17 winner