clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Everything you need to know for Daytona 500 qualifying at the Duel races

The Daytona 500 goes down on Sunday, February 16th, but we’re still sorting through qualifying. The front row of the race is set and on Thursday the Bluegreen Vacations Duels take place at Daytona Motor Speedway to determine the rest of the race order.

NASCAR Cup Series driver Joey Logano crosses the finish line to win the Gander RV Duel 2 at Daytona International Speedway. Jasen Vinlove-USA TODAY Sports

Duel 2 results: William Byron claimed the second Duel to secure the fourth spot in Sunday’s Daytona 500. Here’s the full results of Duel 2.

Duel 1 results: Joey Logano won the first Duel, edging out Aric Almirola and Ryan Newman. Logano will hold the third position in the Daytona 500 on Sunday, with Almirola in the fifth position and Newman in the seventh position. Here’s the full results of Duel 1.

The 2020 NASCAR season has officially gotten underway with qualifying for the Daytona 500. The first row of the race was determined with a qualifying lap on Sunday, with Ricky Stenhouse Jr. and Alex Bowman claiming the top two spots. The rest of the order will be determined through the Bluegreen Vacations Duels.

The Duels are two separate races, 60 laps and 150 miles apiece. They used to be referred to as the Twin 125s, so it is possible you might still hear that phrase even though the races are no longer 125 miles. The first Duel gets going at 7:00 p.m. ET and the second starts 8:45 p.m. FOX Sports 1 will air both races and FOX Sports Go will offer live streams.

The Duels set the starting spots based on inside and outside rows. The first Duel will line up the inside row (odd-numbered starting positions) based on the order in which they finish the Duels, and the drivers in the second Duel will line up the outside row (even-numbered starting positions) for the Daytona 500.

Duel 1 info

Ricky Stenhouse Jr. has the pole for the opening Duel, followed by Chase Elliott. Brad Keselowski and Joey Logano are the favorites to win at DraftKings Sportsbook at +450 and favorites to finish top three at +115. Denny Hamlin (+550, +140), Chase Elliott (+650, +165), and Ryan Blaney (+800, +200) round out the top five in odds.

Date: Thursday, February 13
Start Time: 7:00 p.m. ET
TV Info: Fox Sports 1
Live Stream: FOX Sports Go

NASCAR Duel 1 race order 2020

Order Driver Team
Order Driver Team
1 Ricky Stenhouse Jr. JTG Daugherty Racing
2 Chase Elliott Hendrick Motorsports
3 Denny Hamlin Joe Gibbs Racing
4 Aric Almirola Stewart-Haas Racing
5 Christopher Bell Leavine Family Racing
6 Joey Logano Team Penske
7 Clint Bowyer Stewart-Haas Racing
8 Ryan Newman Roush Fenway Racing
9 Ryan Preece JTG Daugherty Racing
10 Chris Buescher Roush Fenway Racing
11 Martin Truex Jr. Joe Gibbs Racing
12 Brad Keselowski Team Penske
13 John Hunter Nemechek Front Row Motorsports
14 Ryan Blaney Team Penske
15 Austin Dillon Richard Childress Racing
16 Justin Haley* Kaulig Racing*
17 Bubba Wallace Richard Petty Motorsports
18 Reed Sorenson* Premium Motorsports*
19 Daniel Suarez* Gaunt Brothers Racing*
20 Quin Houff StarCom Racing
21 Chad Finchum* MBM Motorsports*
22 Joey Gase Petty Ware Racing

Duel 2 order

Alex Bowman has the pole for the second Duel, followed by Jimmie Johnson. Kyle Busch is the favorite to win at +400 and even money (+100) fo finish in the top three. Kevin Harvick is right behind him at +450 and +115, respectively. Kurt Busch (+800, +200), William Byron (+900, +225), and Matt DiBenedetto (+900, +225) round out the top five in odds.

Date: Thursday, February 13
Duel 2 Start Time: 8:45 p.m. ET
TV Info: Fox Sports 1
Live Stream: FOX Sports Go

NASCAR Duel 2 race order 2020

Order Driver Team
Order Driver Team
1 Alex Bowman Hendrick Motorsports
2 Jimmie Johnson Hendrick Motorsports
3 Kyle Busch Joe Gibbs Racing
4 William Byron Hendrick Motorsports
5 Erik Jones Joe Gibbs Racing
6 Kevin Harvick Stewart-Haas Racing
7 Cole Custer Stewart-Haas Racing
8 Matt DiBenedetto Wood Brothers Racing
9 Tyler Reddick Richard Childress Racing
10 Kyle Larson Chip Ganassi Racing
11 Kurt Busch Chip Ganassi Racing
12 Michael McDowell Front Row Motorsports
13 David Ragan Rick Ware Racing
14 Ross Chastain Spire Motorsports
15 Ty Dillon Germain Racing
16 Brendan Gaughan* Beard Motorsports*
17 Timmy Hill* MBM Motorsports*
18 Corey LaJoie GO FAS Racing
19 J.J. Yeley* Rick Ware Racing*
20 Brennan Poole Premium Motorsports
21 BJ McLeod Rick Ware Racing