clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Who is in the 2021 College Football Playoff

The College Football Playoff field is set. Alabama, Clemson, Ohio State, and Notre Dame will compete for the 2021 National Championship.

The College Football Playoff National Championship Trophy is displayed on November 12, 2020 in Palm Beach, Florida. The Championship game will be played at Hard Rock Stadium on January 11, 2021. Photo by Joel Auerbach/Getty Images

The College Football Playoff semifinal teams have been announced, and now we know which four teams will play for the national championship in 2020.

No. 1 Alabama (10-0)

No. 2 Clemson (10-1)

No. 3 Ohio State (6-0)

No. 4 Notre Dame (10-1)

Alabama and Notre Dame will face off in the Rose Bowl Game in Arlington on January 1st, while Clemson takes on Ohio State in the Sugar Bowl at the Mercedes-Benz Superdome in New Orleans.

The Rose Bowl Game will take place in Arlington, Texas this year because of Covid-19 restrictions in Pasadena, California.

The winners of the two semifinal games will go head-to-head in Miami Gardens at Hard Rock Stadium on Monday, January 11th, and the winner will be declared the national champion of college football in 2020.

The College Football Playoff has been in place since 2014, where as the Bowl Championship Series determined the winner from 1998-2013. Prior to that, voters in polls such as the Associated Press and United Press International determined which teams could claim a national championship.