clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

What the ALCS, NLCS round of the MLB Playoffs bracket looks like

The 2020 MLB Playoffs are underway and moving through the Division round. Teams are starting to clinch victory in their second round series, and here’s what the third round schedule is shaping up to look like.

General view of the ALCS logo on the field one day prior to game one of the ALCS between the Toronto Blue Jays and Cleveland Indians at Progressive Field. Ken Blaze-USA TODAY Sports

The 2020 MLB Playoffs are chugging along and teams are starting to wrap up the best-of-five Division round. The league expanded from a 10-team playoff to a 16-team playoff for this year’s postseason. The league turned the Wild Card round from a one-game playoff to a three-game playoff and then has the traditional best-of-five LDS and best-of-seven LCS and World Series.

The Wild Card round took place at the home site of the higher seed and the LDS, LCS, and World Series each take place at neutral sites. The ALCS will take place in San Diego and the NLCS will take place in Arlington. The World Series will then take place in Arlington.

The Braves are the first team to clinch a spot in the LCS. They thumped the Marlins 7-0 to complete a three-game sweep of the NLDS. They will advance to face the winner of the Dodgers-Padres series, which LA leads 2-0 heading into Thursday’s Game 3.

We’ll provide updates as each of the four Division round winners advances to MLB’s best-of-seven League Championship Series round.

UPDATE: The Astros beat the A’s 11-6 to advance out of the ALDS with a 3-1 series victory. The Astros will face the winner of the Rays-Yankees series, which Tampa leads 2-1.

UPDATE: The Dodgers beat the Padres 12-3 to sweep their NLDS series. They will face the Braves in the NLCS.

UPDATE: The Rays beat the Yankees 2-1 to win the NLDS series in five games. They will face the Astros in the ALCS.

American League Championship Series

(1) Tampa Bay Rays vs. (6) Houston Astros — in San Diego

National League Championship Series

(1) Los Angeles Dodgers vs. (2) Atlanta Braves — in Arlington